AgroBacteria, the BigFoot of DIY BIO

bigfoot-625x440

As someone starting out in DIY BIO I have found trying to procure AgroBacteria, to be a living hell. I have been rejected by several instate universities, with a terse warning, the people who are willing to give me the bacteria are out of state. Now according to the USDA since AgroBacteria is de-weaponized, which means the virulent parts have been removed, thus the organism is genetically modified and cannot be imported or sent across state lines without a special form. First an APHIS level 2 account is required, which means you have to go the the nearest office and show them your ID so they can put a responsible party with the account, second you have to fill out a PPQ 526 form, but the way to fill out the form online doesn’t make sense to me, which has me waiting for a convenient time to call. Unfortunately, I work night shift at the moment and have trouble going on for a regular 9-5 schedule. I will update this post as I figure out what to do.

Leave a comment